Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My wonderful new bulldog

Default My wonderful new bulldog

So I introduced myself 2 weeks ago on a food thread. Emmitt is 13 weeks old and really great. He's doing amazing with the house/crate training, listens really well, and has just been a really laid back, awesome little guy.

Is this normal for the breed?

I've only had experience with a pug and a french bulldog. The frenchie was a training nightmare. Oy!

So is my experience typical? Is this a bulldog thing?

Real Name
    Jenn
    Bulldog(s) Names
    Cutty, Miila and Mugsy the pug :)
    Likes (Received)

Default Re: My wonderful new bulldog

I am no expert since i got my boy at 9 months but it sounds like you got the few that are mellow and fall into their bulldog category. lol From what I have seen on here most are active, bite a lot and very stubborn in training. I hope your boy stays this sweet but I think their devilish horns start to show after a while most the time. My pug was easy to train because he wanted to please me, bullies are stubborn and with my bully, he doesnt care if I am pleased, it is all about what he wants.

The Ultimate Sourmug Become a 4 Paw Member
    I Have Earned Community Veteran Status!
    Need help with the forums?  Contact me!
    Bulldog(s) Names
    The Stig Racecar Driver and Punkin Brutus
    Likes (Received)
    Blog Entries

lol. That's a really good question. Stiggy's my first dog and pet (unless you count my 4 turtles) and we've had the same experience as yours. His crate training went really well and he's been an almost-non barker. He seeks affection and playtime sometimes but is mostly laid back and/or sleeping. Once he gets to be comfortable with you though, he'll start sleeping beside you, on your lap, lick you while you're napping, etc. Its great!

Member of Bulldog Addicts Anonymous Become a 4 Paw Member
    Bulldog(s) Names
    Samson
    Likes (Received)
    Blog Entries