Advice from experienced owners please - THIS close to adopting one - heart connection

rookie

Aug 6, 2018
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
none yet
Hi all! As my name says I am a total rookie. Not just that but English Bulldogs weren't even really on my radar and the only dog I owned (though I lived with many later on) was a miniature poodle. BUT - my child has been dragging me into our local animal shelter to look for "hamsters" and when I took a look at the kennels there with this dog with unbelievable eyes and just such ... great energy. I can't describe it. It's a huge animal. It is not even "cute". I just feel such a connection to him. He is, per kennel note, an "old english bulldog mix" so I believe this forum is the most appropriate (but is he? I will attach a pic. My husband said he is a pit bull). Now, I have gone almost every day to see him, have all the info on him and had my children play with him in the yard. He knocked the youngest off and she is now scared. He is so gentle, but HUGE, 80lbs, and still young (2yrs old - is that still puppy?). The people at the shelter assured me he is great, indifferent to other dogs, his hyper brother was adopted within days, everyone loves him. I am THIS close to adopting him. But here are my questions - are they really good with kids? His demeanor is so gentle, but he is a big big boy. How bad is a potential bite? Like a pit bull bite? We live in Northern California. Can I take him to the beach when I use the same precautions as for my younger ones, such as water, beach tent etc. Can I train him at all to walk on a leash, listen etc? He is so heavy I cannot even lift him...how can I make sure he stays on the leash. Anything else I need to consider? It's sort of insane but I feel like I am in love with this pup. Thank you for reading!

caine.jpeg

oscarmayer

Have Bulldog Will Travel
Staff member
Jan 20, 2016
VA
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names