Samson scared me this past Friday night!

LariP

Aug 4, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
(HRH) Her Royal Highness Princess Gracie & Princess Amelia Pond (Amy)
Poor Samson. So glad it wasn't worse.

lexterwayne

Community Veteran
Aug 13, 2010
texas
Bulldog(s) Names
lex 19 months
Ooo my sweet boy I think he needs to come stay w me for a while :)

kazzy220

Jul 31, 2010
Grafton, OHIO
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names
Maggie (My Angel Baby 5/31/2012). Daddy (2 years). Linus (1year). Bella (4 years)
Hmmm... now I may be unpopular for saying this... but as a trainer I get to work with a LOT of arthritic patients - and they have arthritus for a whole range of reasons including hereditary all the way to past injuries. The LAST thing I get them to do is to just stop doing all forms of exercise. If Samson was a human I would be telling him to increase the strength in all of those muscles around that joint and to keep as much flexibility as possible in that joint.

So maybe consider keeping Samson from all of these activities such as stairs and jumping off the bed until you know that sprain has totally healed. After that maybe allow him to use the stairs ... keep that leg strength there and if he so loves sleeping with you then why deprive him of that. You can get steps for him to use .. that way he's still with you but you know he's getting up and down the safest way possible.

Just a thought .......... also as you know Maggie broke her front leg at a very young age and although there is no strong signs yet the vet has said there is definitely going to be arthritus at some stage, and her two back legs have loose knee joints. The vet described the supplement Nutramax Dasuquin with MSM. I found it on Amazon for cheaper than the vet was trying to sell it for, and on Amazon it has good ratings. We figured .... nothing to lose by giving it a try!!

OP
TessaAndSamson

TessaAndSamson

May 7, 2010
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Samson