Red feet, neck and chin. Recently adopted. Recovering from red mange.

midwifemama11

Aug 14, 2011
Recently adopted an English Bulldog. He was fostered from April until August while he was treated for demodex mite infestation and severe anemia. He required multiple transfusions, a lot of care and treatment. His last two skin scrapings were negative and he is healing. He still has a few pustules left that we are going to have the vet check out. He was eating Purina at the shelter, we are transitioning to a lamb and rice blend it is grain free but it DOES have potatoes. I read in a couple of forums that those may cause allergies or increase yeast. His white feet, chest and neck are reddish. I'm not sure how much is due to his healing skin (he was severely consumed with mange and bald over about 60% of his body. Anyone have any clues? I can post pics later when my husband gets home. I am familiar with yeast in humans (I'm a midwife ;) and there is no scaling, flaking or oozing, just a generalized reddness.

Luvin My Bullie

Community Veteran
Jan 29, 2011
Tuscumbia, Alabama, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Chaos
:welcome: and so glad you found this wonderful breed! I am familiar with demodex and it does cause redness, however, as you seemingly know, Purina is a bad bad food! So, definately alot of his redness could be food related. I would definately do a slow transition to a better food. We have a food rating article and it really helped me decide when I transitioned Chaos from Pedigree. Bullies tend to have sensitive tummys so make sure you transition slowly so it doesn't upset his tummy! Glad you found us and your sweet helpless bully!!! Looking forward to all you have to share and most of all lots of pics!!!There is always someone here with an answer to every question, so feel free and ask away....you'e gonna be an EBN addict in no time :ROFL:

OP
M

midwifemama11

Aug 14, 2011
On adoption day
slimfamily.jpg

slim (18).jpg