Torn ACL...needs TPLO

Petunia

Jul 3, 2011
My 6-year old English bulldog, Morris, has been diagnosed with a torn cruciate ligament and needs TPLO. The vet said the surgery is the best way to ensure that he can regain full use of his leg. I'm really apprehensive of the upcoming surgery. Will really appreciate any inputs here. Thanks.

L

Lucy-licious

sorry I've no experience with surgery as yet but just wanted to say hello and send you a :hug: and a snuggle for Morris too :)
someone will be along shortly who can offer more reassurance than I , but I'm sure everything will be ok :)

Bella'sMom

Community Veteran
Jun 23, 2010
Eau Claire WI
Bulldog(s) Names
Abby 13 (RIP), Bella (6), Betsy( RIP), Frenchie: Oliver
Our Abby has/had a slight tear when she was about 3. Surgery was suggested however not a necessity. We opted to treat her with anti-inflammatories and natural joint supplements. In the mean time we knew she would never be able to be a very active dog. Since she was an indoor dog already we weren't really concerned. We opted not to do surgery and now at 10 she is still with us. Much slower however she still has moments of energy.

Every case is different but I strongly advise you to research it over and over again. Any surgery can be a risk for Bullies.

Good luck!!!

OP
P

Petunia

Jul 3, 2011
Thanks for the feedbacks.:)

We will be asking for a second opinion from a vet who was recommended by a friend who is also a dog owner.

I hope we'll have some good news to share:)

izstigspunks

Sep 16, 2010
Toronto, Ontario
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
The Stig Racecar Driver and (Sweet Angel) Punkin Brutus
Thanks for the feedbacks.:)

We will be asking for a second opinion from a vet who was recommended by a friend who is also a dog owner.

I hope we'll have some good news to share:)

Some owners here highly recommend getting a second opinion when it comes to invasive surgeries. :yes: