Found this on Craigs List,A long read ,but interesting...

Aqualung

Feb 22, 2010
Long Island NY
Bulldog(s) Names
Stomper
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Date: 2010-07-13, 12:04AM EDT
Reply to: see below

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok I'll try to lay this whole issue to rest, I am a veterinarian with over 33 years in practice. No I will not post my name as I do not wish to be bothered with the influx of email I am sure to receive.

First I am sorry to tell you that it is true, all the nutrition texts are written by the pet food giants. All the aspiring veterinarian learns is what they want us to learn. This was the case 35 years ago and is still the case today. It is also true that most new grads will not spend a great deal of time and energy studying nutrition as they are still trying to hone their skills in medicine. It is only in recent years that I have given any thought to nutrition and these are my findings. Keep in mind I am not claiming to be an expert, this is just my opinion and yours may differ.
As for the raw diet: First we must bare in mind that this diet is based on how a dog would feed itself in the wild. Lets keep in mind that a wild dog will not live to be 10 or 12 in the wild. With this in mind I have great trepidations about giving all that raw protein to a senior dog, it will cause extreme stress on the kidneys. So I have to say NO to a raw diet for a senior dog. If you go with the raw diet for your young dog you should mix in a vitamin enriched organic/holistic food. I once had a lactating bitch who was on only a raw diet, the owner took the advice of his accountant and refused to supplement it with vitamins. The accountant told this client that I was only trying to make a sale and the raw diet was complete. The dog died 3 days after the pups were born from lack of calcium and essential vitamins, subsequently the pups all died too.