Puppy with UTI Infection/Bladder Stones

brcjzl

Jul 7, 2011
Canfield, Ohio
Bulldog(s) Names
Liam, (Bailey RIP 05/22/2011)
We have a 10 week old puppy that has an e-coli uti infection and bladder stones. Has anyone had experience with a puppy this young having stones? Is there anything we can do other than surgery to dissolve the stones? We purchased our pup from a breeder two weeks ago and noticed blood in the urine within four days. The vet is 100% sure the dog had the infection and stones prior to us receiving the dog. The vet did a culture on the urine and found the e-coli infection. Also, ultrasound confirmed stones that did not appear on the xray. Because of this the vet thinks they are urate stones.

SunDog

Mar 26, 2011
California
Bulldog(s) Names
Lupe (or Lulu)
Ugh. SO sorry for you baby!!

I have some experience with this. Lupe was about that age when we discovered blood on her dog bed and urine dibbles. She was diagnosed with a stricture, basically skin blocking her urethra, that had to be manually opened weekly (She loves going to the Vet until she SEES the Vet!) She also had loads of bladder crystals, a prolapsed vulva; it was a mess, but through careful feeding and eventually plastic surgery, she's all better.

Ask your Vet about a diet that might dissolve the stones. We went of Urinary S/O I think. It's a bad dog food, but really cleared up her bladder. We also still add water to Lupe's food every feeding. I also put a capful of apple cider vinegar in the dog water bowl. Finally, give her a wipe every evening. We use witch hazel pads, even now. It's just so hard for bully's to reach there on their own!!

You may want to opt for a check to see if there is some other kind of abnormality in her girl-part anatomy that might make UTIs chronic. Other times it's just a Ph issue.

Also...lots of belly rubs! Bladder and UTIs are painful, as us girls know!

OP
brcjzl

brcjzl

Jul 7, 2011
Canfield, Ohio
Bulldog(s) Names