Help Needed! Rapidly worsening skin problem

Sedaves

Jan 12, 2020
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Millie and Thornton
Hello,

I have a 7 year old English bulldog that was just diagnosed with Cushings disease. We havenā€™t started the meds(trilostane) because they were ordered Friday and should arrive tomorrow. In the meantime, Millie has developed severe spreading ulcerations on her skin. Sheā€™s been on antibiotics for 2 weeks now and itā€™s getting worse pretty rapidly. Does anyone have any suggestions/experience on what this could be or if itā€™s related to the cushings. I had biopsies taken last week and am waiting on those results too. Any advice would be appreciated. Iā€™m very worried. B70DFA3B-3F76-4AF8-B6E9-9A680ADE0EA0.jpegB0D1B621-41EB-4A3B-8C69-EAB0DEEC90E6.jpeg59B052CB-DB45-492A-85EB-95A0F81C6445.jpeg

1Chumly

Feb 19, 2015
Houston, TX
Country
From England
Bulldog(s) Names
Buster 2013-2023 Monty 6/2010 - 1/2020 Chumly 2002-2014
Your poor baby. Sorry, I have no experience with this but I am sure someone will be along to help. I hope you can get it all sorted out soon.

Dollys Owner

Feb 20, 2017
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Honey
Sorry Millie is going through this. I'm thinking it might be an allergic reaction to the antibiotic, so it might be worth not giving it tonight and starting Millie on some diphenhydramine 1 mg/pound 2-3 times daily until tomorrow when you speak to vet.

OP
Sedaves

Sedaves

Jan 12, 2020
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Millie and Thornton
Thanks, it did start before the antibiotics, which is the reason they prescribed them, but they havenā€™t helped at all. I guess at this point it wont hurt to stop them. I have been giving her Benadryl intermittently and started Rimadyl three days ago too. Itā€™s just alarming the rate this is spreading. I will definitely ask the vet about a possible allergy tomorrow.

Dollys Owner

Feb 20, 2017
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Honey