Eye stains...

starjess81

Apr 12, 2011
Herndon, Ky
Bulldog(s) Names
Ollie
I am new to EBD ownership and care. I adopted my bully yesterday and gave him a bath, flea dip, and removed every single tick from his body. I noticed his right eye has a lot on staining on the fur and he blinks it a lot. i read he could have a red yeast infection. Any suggestions on how to treat it and get rid of the staining? He is going to the vet on monday, I just wondered if there was anything I could do until then. Thanks!

ABEBD

Feb 18, 2011
Phx, Az.
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
By many names depending on the situation?
Hi,
Many EBD are very allergic to wheat in the foods. This is a big and common problem in Bullies. Most of the lower quality brands use wheat and gluten items as fillers in the food. Check on this site and there is a list of dogs food ranking. See what you are feeding and where it is on the list. It could also be just from a watery eye condition. Keep the eye folds and everyfold on the face, chin, head, neck and tail dock area wipped clean and dry as much as you can. Other problems will occur from the mositure also.
There are several products available from vet clinic or pet store or online. Angel eyes is one that I have heard of but have not used. For severe conditions the vet can give tetrocycline shots.
Start off slow on any food changes.

cali~jenn

Mar 28, 2010
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Cutty, Miila and Mugsy the pug :)
Welcome! A new pup huh? Congrats! I would look into the vet you are seeing and make sure they have bully knowledge. There are a lot of great bulldog vets listed on the homepage I would check it out and maybe that will help. Being smooshy faced, these pups need a diff kind of care than other dogs and have many health problems that are diff also which is why having a good bully vet is important. This is supposed to be great for bully folds and staining. I have just started using it myself. SPA Fresh Facial Scrub 8oz

Sherry