Sugestions for allergy dog on small dose prednisone

BabyDuke

Community Veteran
Mar 25, 2011
Philadelphia PA
Bulldog(s) Names
Duke
Hi everyone I am a newbie here so hope I am posting in the correct section. :confused: Our Duke is 3 1/2 and was diagonosed with allergies a year ago. Ironically we had him tested by a dermatologist and he was allergic to wool ? we had wool blankets all over the house.. he is also allergic to some molds but no foods. We tried the allergy shots with no luck :(.... he used to rip his neck open and his paws would swell up like crazy and he would get ear infections.. Since we eliminated the wool etc no more of this.. BUT he still gets the red face and itchy face wrinkles.. So the dermatologist has him on 10 mg of prednisone every other day and Zrtex.. I don't like that he is on this and I know it is a low dose . He just had his annual check up , bloodwork all good, weight good etc.. he told us to try cutting in half and giving .5 mg of pred but as soon as i cut back poor Duke was so so uncomfortable.. I called the dermatologist back and he said that 10 mg every other day keeps it at bay ?? any thoughts or suggestions? :*( he is a very happy healthy dog. I don't want him to be uncomfortable but don't like the idea of him being on the steriod ? thanks for your feedback.. Karen

OP
BabyDuke

BabyDuke

Community Veteran
Mar 25, 2011
Philadelphia PA
Bulldog(s) Names
Duke