Injured dew claw

cefe13

Sep 12, 2013
Country
Sweden
Bulldog(s) Names
Castor (2013-2021 RIP)
No idea how this happened, but Castor has injured his dew claw, probably by hopping in or out of bed last night. This morning his white chest was all bloody which was a scary but it turned out the blood came from his dew claw. He doesn't seem to worry about it himself - no pain and no incessant licking and it doesn't bleed much now. The pic is blurry but there is a white/pink thing sticking out under the claw which I suppose happened as he tore the claw. Will this heal by itself or do we need to take him to a vet?

IMG_5216.JPG

Cbrugs

Administrator
Community Veteran
Dec 9, 2016
Seattle, WA
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
King Louie, Jax (French Bulldog), Ella Mae and Darla Rae
Oh no! Poor Castor. I'm glad he doesn't seem to be in any pain. I have no experience with this but just wanted to send positive thoughts your way for a speedy recovery.

TyTysmom

Nov 4, 2014
Katy, TX
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Tyson aka "Ty-Ty"
No idea how this happened, but Castor has injured his dew claw, probably by hopping in or out of bed last night. This morning his white chest was all bloody which was a scary but it turned out the blood came from his dew claw. He doesn't seem to worry about it himself - no pain and no incessant licking and it doesn't bleed much now. The pic is blurry but there is a white/pink thing sticking out under the claw which I suppose happened as he tore the claw. Will this heal by itself or do we need to take him to a vet?

View attachment 105946

Hmmm is his actual dew claw still in tact and tight? It looks more like a bump to me on the photo. Or is like a cut?

OP
cefe13

cefe13

Sep 12, 2013
Country
Sweden
Bulldog(s) Names
Castor (2013-2021 RIP)
Hmmm is his actual dew claw still in tact and tight? It looks more like a bump to me on the photo. Or is like a cut?