Mattb1210

Mar 24, 2017
Country
United Kingdom
Bulldog(s) Names
Cooper
Hi,
I'm pretty new to the world of Bulldogs.
We have a ten week old male. For the last two weeks he's had a cough. This turned into discharge from the nose.
He's on antibiotics for a suspected upper respiratory infections.
He's generally good in himself in that he plays when coaxed, eats like a machine and his ablutions are all good.
He's only been on the antibiotics for three days, but the issue seems to be good inhalation.
I've read about growth spurts allowing his trachea to catch up and the vet at the moment, (without x-rays) feels that he should be ok.
He is bringing mucus up which builds up when he's been laying down, (sleeps awfully).
When he brings the mucus up there appears to be food in it.
Initially we were giving him a small kibble which he was eating to fast. We then started soaking it, but still stuck. Now resorted to blending the small kibble into a paste. However he is still getting food in his trachea.
I'm really stuck on this.....will he grow out of it, or am I doing it completely wrong?
Any advice would be so much appreciated :)

Last edited:

TyTysmom

Nov 4, 2014
Katy, TX
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Tyson aka "Ty-Ty"
Is his problem that he is eating too fast you think? They have slow feeder bowls you can look into. Another great thing to do is elevate his bowl. This helps the food go down easier and not get stuck. We feed elevated and its also better for posture so they aren't bent over so much.

Here are some examples of slow feed bowls, makes them work harder which in turn slows them down. The raised/elevated bowls are also worth a shot! He may have a palate issue, but at that age its still too young to tell. I would try these options to see if it helps any. Also the meds should help clear up that mucus.

If he gets into a coughing like choke up, squirt some lemon juice down his throat for some relief.