Small eyelid cyst on 13-year-old.....difficult surgery decision

TooTooMommy

Jun 17, 2016
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Meaty, Sophie, & sometimes fosters
Hi everybully....I would appreciate your thoughts on this. Hubbs and I have NO experience with eldery doggies, nor have we ever been through the heartbreak of euthanasia. Our precious guy Professor adopted us
8 months ago---we adore him sooo much (do I even need to say that? LOL!) Our rescue president says he is around 12, possibully 13. He has a growth (NOT entropion!) under his eyelid that's just a tad larger than a pencil eraser. The vet RX'd artificial tears 1-3 times per day.

It never seems to bother him until very recently. He rubs himz eye on a blanket, or the couch, but NOT
that often. Just the other night, for the first time in 8 months---it did bleed a bit, but he did not
seem bothered at all. We irrigated it with saline for a while, gently patted it dry, and he was totally calm throughout! :) It has not bled since---just that one time. It was great how CALM he was, because when we put his artifical tears in, he runs and acts like we're torturing him. He obviously LIKED the way
the saline felt ?

Our wonderbull vet knows that we are VERY reluctant to put such an elderly bulldog under general anesthesia;
however, he assured us that pre-operatively, he would do chest x-rays, bloodwork, etc. to assure that Professor
is healthy enough to survive okay. And just FYI---we trust this vet implicitly since our Archimedes (Meaty) was a pupp 8 years ago--he is NOT a vet that's just trying to make money.

Our wonderbull rescue group gave us good input--MOST think that if it doesn't seem to affect himz quality of life that much; it is NOT worth the anesthesia, and we MOSTLY agree. Another negative POSSIBILITY that we hadn't considered is the higher risk of pneumonia post-op. :eek: The thought of putting him through all of that, PLUS