Butt Scootin Boogie

Luvin My Bullie

Community Veteran
Jan 29, 2011
Tuscumbia, Alabama, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Chaos
So the hubby noticed yesterday that Chaos has been scooting a time or two on his bottom. I'm new with all this anal glad stuff. Does this mean I need to take him in to have them expressed? He is suppose to go back Monday for a recheck on his ear infection, so is it ok to wait til then or should I go ahead and take him? Also, is there a way to tell if they are full other than when they do the "butt scootin boogie"? :confused:

TessaAndSamson

May 7, 2010
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Samson
For Samson the booty scooting started when he was a pup. This told us 2 things, he needed his anal glands expressed regularly (for him it's every 2 months) and he has a tail pocket that needs to be cleaned regularly. You can wait but that's up to you, if you can move up the appointment I would because obviously it's bothering him. The other way to tell when it's time for an expression is sometimes you can smell the glands, it's a really gross smell. It doesn't smell like feces, it's a different smell but still gross, nothing I can compare it to. I just track our visits so I can take him before it gets to the smelly booty scooting point LOL Same with the tail pocket I make sure to do it regularly so it's doesn't get to the point where it's bothering him.

MissBailey

May 23, 2010
California
Bulldog(s) Names
Lil Miss Bailey
<iframe title="YouTube video player" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/FQFDOzbBVrw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
I hope this is helpful

Last edited:

kazzy220

Jul 31, 2010
Grafton, OHIO
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names
Maggie (My Angel Baby 5/31/2012). Daddy (2 years). Linus (1year). Bella (4 years)
Maggie will occasionally do the booty-scoot but it is VERY infrequent and is not done repeatedly .... I think she just has an itchy booty she can't scratch so we end up having to do it for her!