General Question Some hiccups in these almost 8 months

They Call Me Meaty

May 3, 2016
San Antonio, TX
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Meatball
Hi Everyone! I am a newbie to owning an English Bulldog and to this site. Some history: my daughter asked for a Kingston Cocker Spaniel, her dad brought her an English Bulldog :no: At first we weren't really sure if we were happy, but oh how he has grown on us!!! :D Meatball is his name, but we call him Meaty (Meaty Cornelius Martin when he's in trouble)
We started him on Royal Canine Food, however, with this food, his stools never hardened. We switched over to Fromm and his stools are now regular. This is our 2nd month now on it. Check! :whew:
Then he started with a very runny nose, and he licked it, every time. This developed into pneumonia. Took him to the vet, got him some antibiotics and wiped his crusty eyes with a warm wet towel and he got better. Check! :whew:
Then he started to get very itchy, and loss of hair. Back to the vet and he was diagnosed with demodex mange and stenotic nares and elongated soft palate. Gave us the quote for surgery and also said the Nexguard should solve the demodex mange, but if it didn't, to go back for the medicated dips.
So far the demodex has gotten only slightly better under his chin, however, he now has rough patches on his body. Not sure what to do about this. Any suggestions are appreciated!
Then he developed a bunch of rash looking areas, under his stomach, and would be armpits and back of thighs (where the legs meet the body) creases. I applied triple antibiotic ointment, and that seemed to help.
He is shedding, but I am going to assume that is in part to his winter coat? Correct me if my assumption is wrong.

It bugs me dearly to see him so itchy. I have tried benadryl and I don't know what to do to help him relieve the itch. Meatball wants to be scratched and even rubs against wooden gates on our walks :( and on our carpet/furniture.