santowah

Apr 18, 2016
Greenville, SC
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
CeeLo
Hi there. I adopted my first bulldog, Sarge on Saturday.

He was chained up in someone's backyard for 4 years before I came along and after an hour of begging and $50 they let me take him home.

He has yeast infections in his paws, wrinkles and up his legs, he has double ear infections, his claws were grown into his paw pads and he has flank alopecia. they had him eating something akin to alpo or ole roy which makes me cringe just thinking about.

they had his allergy reports and he's allergic to flaxseed, potato, milk, lamb, rice and something else I can't remember right now. he's also allergic to any and all dye.

I'm a vet tech (not working as one currently) but I've never seen a yeast infection this severe. He has a vet appointment next week. In the mean time, what can I do to make him more comfortable? I've started treating the infections with a spray my old boss told me to make up, however, he might be a vet, but is not really a bully expert nor am I so I was wondering if you wonderful people had any suggestions to keep him comfortable/keep it from getting worse until his appointment as well as food suggestions that won't make him itch so bad (this might not be the board for food suggestions BUT I wanted to keep from flooding with 2 billion posts about all my questions because im a bulldog newbie!)

Also, he has some of the worst stenotic nares I've ever seen. I'm going to discus it with the vet but has anyone ever had good success with the stenotic nare surgey on an older dog (he's 5/6). I mostly see it done on puppies.

thanks!!

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
THANK YOU for saving this sweet baby!!