Worried Mom of Sophie

Mom of Tucker

Jun 22, 2015
Texas
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Sophie (2015), Jasper (2020), Tucker (2015-2020)
Sophie was spayed one week ago, and I thought she had been recovering nicely. She has been feeling well, and she and Tucker are back to their usual hijinx. (He had cherry eye surgery the same day.)

However, today I am noticing a large hard knot, just under her incision area. It is about the size of a baseball, but it doesn't see to bother her. I called the vet, and the girl who answered said it could be an umbilical hernia and that I could bring her in Monday. I'm worried she needs to be seen sooner. Does anyone know what this is or what I should do?

Sophie tummy.JPG

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
it does look like a hernia.... i have no experience with them, but I do not think they are life threatening. Going to tag a few people to see if they can give some insight

OP
Mom of Tucker

Mom of Tucker

Jun 22, 2015
Texas
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
it does look like a hernia.... i have no experience with them, but I do not think they are life threatening. Going to tag a few people to see if they can give some insight

Thanks. I just hope she doesn't need more surgery. I'm trying to limit her activity, but she wants to play with brother Tucker.

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
Hi! This is likely NOT a hernia.... I have experienced a similar looking lump after c-sections. It is just filled with fluid.

Can you please take a photo of it with her lying on her back? This angle it looks much larger than the ones I have seen, but I've always looked on their backs.