Help Needed! Need Adivce!

AbbyElizabeth

Nov 12, 2015
Country
Australia
Bulldog(s) Names
Cypha
Hey guys i'm new to EBN and i'm hoping i can get some advice - my 2 year old French Bulldog is going in for surgery next week for his soft palate, nostrils the works and it's the first time he will be going under anesthesia. I understand there are a few different options for the anesthestic used and I don't mind paying extra but just wanted to hear from anyone who knows which anesthetic is best for bulldogs and what to expect after the surgery? Any advice would be super appreciated :yes:

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
My Frenchie had this all done at age 2 and the recovery was quick, but one thing to keep in mind.... try to not let her bark after the procedure, stop if you can as it can casue scar tissue to form and another surgery would be needed.

I tagged Lisa and Ellie for the anesthetic info as I always get them confused

nycbullymama

Dec 22, 2012
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
b and w
Hey guys i'm new to EBN and i'm hoping i can get some advice - my 2 year old French Bulldog is going in for surgery next week for his soft palate, nostrils the works and it's the first time he will be going under anesthesia. I understand there are a few different options for the anesthestic used and I don't mind paying extra but just wanted to hear from anyone who knows which anesthetic is best for bulldogs and what to expect after the surgery? Any advice would be super appreciated :yes:

Generally, it's Isoflurane or Sevoflurane.
Prior to anesthesia, your vet may decide to give a sedative like ACE (Acepromazine). Most here are against giving ACE as they believe it contributes to deaths caused by anesthesia.