Champb

Mar 18, 2015
Country
Usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Champ
Hello,

I have an 8 month amazing bulldog... He was recently diagnosed with elongated soft palate.. Which has caused him aspiration pneumonia. He has been on chloramphenicol for about 3 weeks now. However, hes not eating anything at all, he vomits anything he eat, he's lost 5 pounds. He does drink a lot of water, but now i also notice he started to shiver ans his ear are always cold. Ive taken him back to the vet plenty of times, stomach xrays, barium study and everything seems good besides his lungs.

I was just wondering if anyone had their bulldog on chloramphenicol before and if they had similar sode effects? Or should I continue to search for something else besides his aspiration pneumonia

Thank you :)

ddnene

EBN's SWEETHEART aka our little GOOB
Staff member
Jun 19, 2013
Nashville, Tennessee
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Willow (2015) Walter (2014-22) Winston (2012-13) Wellie (2012-13) Bella (2007-13)
I have no experience w/this, but I'm going to tag some members that may be able to advice… so sorry about your baby, and please keep us posted!!!

cali baker

Worlds Greatest Chef
Feb 25, 2011
The Crown City (Pasadena)
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Tate Rory & Finn Paddington
hi [MENTION=13896]Champb[/MENTION], is Champ still taking the chloramphenicol now and if so, how much longer does the vet want him to be on it? I had to do some reading about this drug and found that yes, the vomiting and lack of appetite can be major side effects. Has he had some blood tests done recently? the shivering can be a sign of anemia as chloramphenicol can cause certain types of anemias (this was the main reason why oral forms were taken off the market for human use).

I would talk to your vet about alternative meds for Champ, or get a 2nd opinion. The wt. loss, shivering, vomiting are all very concerning symptoms.

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011