Heartworm detected

Ulrich

Oct 11, 2014
Minnesota
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Murray
We just learned that our 2 1/2 year old, Murray, has heartworm. His heartbeat is normal, and Murray's energy is good. He needs to have treatment to get rid of the adult heartworms. I'm told the first shot can be somewhat risky. I'm sad that Murray has to go through this. We gave him the heartworm meds, so we're not sure how or when he contracted this. Our vet quoted the treatment of 3 shots at around $1k. Is that the going rate?

Has anyone experienced this before? Do you have any advice or can you share your experiences?

Thanks,
Murray's mom

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
I have no experience with this and wish you and Murray the best -- sending prayers and positive thoughts.

I will tag some members they may have experience or just some knowledge. A lot of dogs that end up in rescue have them and are treated while with the rescue groups and go on to a full happy life.

Please keep us posted

Texas Carol

Texas Carol....put the heart in EBN
Community Veteran
Jul 4, 2012
Central Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Brutus & Cami live in Heaven
So very sorry to hear this, I'm hearing dogs on HW prevention are
experiencing infestation, not sure WHY, hoping more experienced
post. That sounds like expensive quote from Vet, maybe 2nd opinion.
I do know there are holistic options that are not as hard on the dogs.
Please let us know, am praying for him!

brutus77

Skinny-Dippin' Smokin' Tidy Bowl Bionic Woman
Jul 18, 2013
Long Island NY
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Brutus, Frankie, and Jack
So sorry to hear this. I wish Murray the best

Tuneybuster

Oct 7, 2014