WhitneyBlanche

Mar 3, 2015
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Ollie
Hello all,
I am new to English Bulldog News! My boyfriend and I just adopted an 11 month old female english bulldog named Ollie! We've only had her for a few weeks but we are already so in love!!
I have been doing quite a bit of research on her breed and I'm enquiring about the soft palate surgery. There are a few things going on that concern us regarding Ollie and I believe it may be a soft palate issue from what I've read. She is a horrendous snorer- like nothing I have heard before! She has to sleep in a crate in the living room because it is so loud we can't sleep if she is in our room, which is sad for us and her because she wants to sleep with us and we want her with us as well! At night when she is trying to go to sleep she seems noticeably uncomfortable. She flops around and snorts a lot and seems to have a very difficult time getting comfortable. Her breathing also becomes very erratic- not steady like it should when falling asleep. She also begins snoring the moment she gets tired- even before she's asleep! And more often than not she tries to sleep sitting up. She will flop over and wake up and she sits right back up and tries to go back to sleep that way- we believe it is because being upright helps her breathing. She spits up white foam many times a day and after eating or drinking she regurgitates aggressively for a quite awhile afterward. She also pants for quite awhile after play.
We took her to our vet and he said they do not do the soft palate surgery at his practice as they do not have a laser but he did believe that she would probably benefit from it.

My question is- can anyone recommend somewhere that does do this surgery in the great Toronto area. We are in Oakville, Ontario but don't mind traveling within reason. I know this surgery can be quite expensive so we are looking for someone reputable who is going to give us a good price.
Thanks for the help!