General Question Bulldog regurgitation

Zach Wendy Smith

Nov 27, 2014
My bulldog has been regurgitating for a long time he usually does it after he drinks water or eats any food I don't know if he's eating too fast or just excited anybody got any suggestions.

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
Have you tried a slow feed bowl? Drinking and eating too fast can cause this, especially if it's right after meals.

aprilemari

Community Veteran
Sep 11, 2011
Boston, MA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola & Fox
I'm dealing with this now with lola. She eats two raw meals a day but it's not much by volume. Especially if thawed, it would go down real quick. And then she would regurgitate in the late night in bed. So annoying to not sleep because lola would regurg. many times but liquid food would come up at least once.

My hypothesis was ( I'm a scientist) that Lola, since having palate surgery, may have some delay in getting her food into her stomach from her esophagus. Some may call this a form of megaesophagus. A bully i know from Instagram uses a Bailey chair which has the dog sit up to eat. Helps the food move down by gravity.
So... Onto my advice. We choose to feed lola by hand in slower bites, with the food still partially frozen. This slowed her down and make her chew, all while her head was above her body, helping the food go down as well. We were in the process of moving internationally this past week and not one regurgitation following these new rules.

One more thing, we feed her second meal a bit later than we used to, which helps for empty tummy vomits in the middle of the night. Empty tummy is yellow, white, and or foamy. You know what regurg. is. 7pm dinner instead of 4pm. Yep.

sent from my droid mini

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie