I have a couple of questions...

Gertie's Mom

Community Veteran
Jul 17, 2010
SanTan Valley, Az.
Bulldog(s) Names
Gertie & Ida
We took our two little tubs to Petsmart today to be weighed. I was surprised, Gertie weighs 48 pounds and Ida is 46 1/2 pounds. So since I'm still pretty new to this breed, I was wondering at what age do females typically reach their adult size and weight? And when do they usually come into heat the first time? I know these things vary from breed to breed.

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
Wow they are a good size. They are what, about 8 months old? That is what their weight should be on average for a full grown female. Perhaps they need to go on a bit of a diet? But if they are built like my Jesse much of it could just be 'mass'. It is definitely time to keep an eye on their weight.

As for heat, I think they will generally have their first heat at around 9 months old. Every 6 months average after that. Yuna is almost a year however, and she has not had hers yet, so that all varies too.

Bella'sMom

Community Veteran
Jun 23, 2010
Eau Claire WI
Bulldog(s) Names
Abby 13 (RIP), Bella (6), Betsy( RIP), Frenchie: Oliver
Wow that is big, Bella is just over a year and 37lbs. She is small because of her EPI, but I am beginning to love this size. Abby topped out at 65, but now with timed feedings and better food she lost 7 lbs and looks great! She is long legged, so her weight doesn't look that bad on her.

Lacey28

Community Veteran
Sep 17, 2010
Windsor Ontario Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Silva and Stella
Since Silva has been 10 months or so to now she has weighed between 56-61 lbs. Since she has been on Fromm she weighs 56-57 lbs and the Vet is happy with her weight. Dont know about "heat" Silva has spayed.

LariP

Aug 4, 2010
Milwaukee, WI
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names