Elevated phosphorus in puppy

rxreptile01

Oct 5, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Lexi and Shelby
We just had our six month old spayed today. Everything went well, but the vet says her phosphorus is elevated. He's not concerned because she is going to be a big girl and is growing quickly. Has anyone encountered this before? He wants to recheck it in six months when she's closer to being full grown.

Thank you

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
I have not, but will tag a few members that might have some insight

ddnene

EBN's SWEETHEART aka our little GOOB
Staff member
Jun 19, 2013
Nashville, Tennessee
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Willow (2015) Walter (2014-22) Winston (2012-13) Wellie (2012-13) Bella (2007-13)
I have no experience w/this… I'm sorry. I wish you all the best w/your baby!!!

rjisaterp

Community Veteran
Apr 18, 2014
Somewhere in the Universe. Really Maryland.
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Cooper, Jewel (April 27, 2013-May 7, 2022-RIPDaddy's Girl) and (Bentley Oct 2013-Dec 2021)

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
We just had our six month old spayed today. Everything went well, but the vet says her phosphorus is elevated. He's not concerned because she is going to be a big girl and is growing quickly. Has anyone encountered this before? He wants to recheck it in six months when she's closer to being full grown.

Thank you

I guess the big question would be how elevated was it? I would ask for a copy of the test results and take them to another vet for a second opinion and a possible retest to see if the results have changed in a week or two.

OP
R

rxreptile01

Oct 5, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Lexi and Shelby