Tick Problem

Vanprarm

Jul 27, 2013
Buford, GA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chunk
Anyone with experience or advice would be great. My bulldog and I have lived in Georgia for a little over two years now and have never had a problem with ticks but starting about three weeks ago they are suddenly everywhere. I've pulled three off of him in the last week and have found them crawling on myself. He's mainly indoors as I live in an apartment complex so until recently he wasn't using any tick preventive meds. I have since used the topical walmart brand hartz ultra guard flea and tick drops on him (used before and no adverse reactions) so I'm hoping that will help but I am definitely looking for a good shampoo for ticks and his sensitive skin that I can get from the grocery or petsmart/petco. I am a teacher and on a very right budget so please keep in mind but as a girl originally from the Midwest, I am kind of freaking out :ohmy:

Vikinggirl

Norwegian Rose
Community Veteran
Oct 8, 2012
Burlington, ON Canada
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Bulldozer and Blossom
Hi Rebecca, we use Revolution between June and November, it covers heart worm, fleas, and ticks.

Spring will be here soon and the ticks will soon be showing
their heads. Here is a good way to get them off you, your
children, or your pets. Give it a try.

Please forward to anyone with children... or hunters or dogs,
or anyone who even steps outside in summer!!

A School Nurse has written the info below -- good enough
to share -- And it really works!

========

"I had a pediatrician tell me what she believes is the best
way to remove a tick. This is great, because it works in
those places where it's some times difficult to get to with
tweezers: between toes, in the middle of a head full of dark
hair, etc."

"Apply a glob of liquid soap to a cotton ball. Cover the tick
with the soap-soaked cotton ball and swab it for a few
seconds (15-20), the tick will come out on its own and be