Help Needed! Tail pocket problem! I'm new to this so I'm freaking out:(

Petra

Jan 8, 2013
Naboomspruit, South Africa.
Country
Sweden
Bulldog(s) Names
Boeboe, Bennie Boy and Joey
I don't know what to do now:( I just got Joey's cyst/wound she's had under her food to heal and now last night I discovered that her tail pocket has a problem:*( Here is a picture...

20140415_111048.jpg

She's got the so called "tight screw tail" so the folds by her tail is pretty deep... she has never during these 3 1/2 years we've had her had a problem like this (she'll turn 7 in October). I'm completely new to issues like this:ashamed: Can I buy diaper rash cream and put on this? or is that for milder bacterial infections? She's got like a redish bump and it's liquidish so it's hard to keep dry, and the hairs came out too when I cleaned it out last night:( I gave her a bath with a shampoo called Pyostat this morning at 5 am cos she was barking and I'm sure it was cos she itched. I'm so sad for her:cry:

Is this a disaster that needs medical attention? I'm stressing about it being cancer and all kinds of thoughts are going through my mind:(

Can I dry it out with Epsom salt like I do when she gets interdigital cysts or what must I do?

Like the typical bulldog she doesn't suffer in silence... she's barking when it itches/hurts so at least I know when I have to help her... She's so good, she lets me do whatever back there and she licks my leg while I'm busy. I love her<3

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
I would keep washing it with the pyostat a few times today and apply desitin, if it gets worse then maybe get to the vet. You don't by any chance have some panalog ointment?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
Petra

Petra

Jan 8, 2013
Country
Sweden
Bulldog(s) Names