General Question Heartworm positive

Danielle

May 2, 2012
Quincy, Florida, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Herschel and Fiona
Fiona, as I pretty much expected is heartworm positive. Anyone go through the slow kill treatment? I'm of course nervous.

I know that the rescue orgs are familiar with it but I wanted to ask here first.

Sent from my PURPLE Samsung Galaxy S4.

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
Poor girl..... i have no experience with this, but I am sure someone here has and will be along shortly.

B

Baxter Tiberius

Oh you're in florida like me. I just now started Baxter on Heartworm meds. But I am breaking all the rules and splitting his tablet up into 4ths, and giving it to him every week. Instead of mega-dosing him for a whole month up front. I hope this still protects him. What were the first symptoms?

OP
Danielle

Danielle

May 2, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Herschel and Fiona
This is a new rescue that just came home with me. No coughing or anything. Vet said it was a weak positive but positive nonetheless. Poor dear.

Ftse 100

Bully lov'in wonder from down under
Mar 25, 2012
Qld Australia
Country
Australia
Bulldog(s) Names
Ftse
Oh poor Fiona, I so hope the treatment goes well sending prayers for a quick and speedy recovery

dieMuttivonBifi

May 25, 2013
Germany
Country
from the Philippines but residing in Germany
Bulldog(s) Names
Bifi (beef-ii)
Hope she responds to treatment well and recovers quickly. Keeping positive!

Manydogs

Community Veteran
May 2, 2013
Tennessee
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
Maudee,MarthaKatie,Lizzie,Bro.Mini