Just adopted this hunk of love! Yesterday he was diagnosed with heart worms. Has anyone got experience with treating this?

htracewell

Mar 29, 2014
a5ave9yv.jpg

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
Hello .... :welcome3: to EBN!!! Thank you for adopting and giving your boy a new chance at a great life.

i have no experience with heart worms but I am sure we have a member with some advice to help you along.

dieMuttivonBifi

May 25, 2013
Germany
Country
from the Philippines but residing in Germany
Bulldog(s) Names
Bifi (beef-ii)
wow he's a beauty! bet he's already spoiled! lol.

Manydogs

Community Veteran
May 2, 2013
Tennessee
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
Maudee,MarthaKatie,Lizzie,Bro.Mini
Pet Owner Resources | Canine Heartworm I had two dogs back in the 1960's who had heartworms. At that time, we hadn't ever heard of them! The treatment has not changed since then.
A A A
printer.gif

Canine Heartworm Disease

Treatments

Topical moxidectin is now FDA-approved for use in heartworm-positive dogs to eliminate microfilariae. No adverse reactions due to high microfilarial counts were observed in the laboratory or field studies conducted for approval of this label claim.
Adult Heartworm Therapy (Adulticide Therapy)

There is currently one drug approved by the FDA for use in dogs for the elimination of adult heartworms. This drug is an organic arsenical compound. Dogs receiving this drug therapy will typically have had a thorough pretreatment evaluation of its condition and will then be hospitalized during the administration of the drug.