MrMrsDevilDoc

Jan 30, 2014
Southern AZ
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Ally, Hank, Charlotte
Hi everyone...

I originally posted about my boy Hank on someone else's thread about their bully throwing up a lot.

Hank is 18 mos old, vomited all day on Thurs 1/30, took him to the vet yesterday, Fri 1/31.
The vet couldn't feel a blockage, and had no fever, so she is treating this as a stomach bug. I have no certain knowledge that he got into something he shouldn't have, but he will at any chance he gets. As much as we try to keep the bathroom and pantry door shut... sometimes he still gets into the trash.
Anyway, the gave him subcutaneous fluids (he was dehydrated), a shot of penicillin, a shot of cerenia, and a script for metronidazole to take home.
She said to give him water and only plain broth that day.
We did and he kept it all down.
Today we were able to give him some plain white rice since he did not throw up all night.
He would not eat the rice, so we called the vet and asked if we could give him some dog food (dry) and they said yes... but only 1/4 a cup at first.
He ate it up and kept it down, he had another 1/4 cup at lunch and kept that down too.
Then at dinner he wouldn't eat at all.
He has been lethargic all day. Not himself at all.... I don't know what to do.
He is eating ice cubes every now and then, but not really drinking any water. And he's kind of shivering... I'm so worried.

Any thoughts, advice? What is everyone's experience with metronidazole? I've never used it for any of mine and am not familiar with it... is the lethargy and loss of appetite a side effect of the medicine?

Thanks guys... here's of pic of my poor baby Hank, he's so sick... :(

200.jpg

aprilemari

Community Veteran
Sep 11, 2011
Boston, MA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Lola & Fox