URGENT!!! sick english bulldog puppy

jlr130

Jan 20, 2014
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Chuck
Hi everyone,

I am very new to this, so I hope I created a new thread correctly. My sweet 11 week old puppy Chuck has been diagnosed with pneumonia, and he is not doing well. I have had so many doctors and his breeder give me different opinions that I'm unsure of what advice to follow and how to make him better. Here are the facts about little Chuck's illness:

He was diagnosed with a very mild upper respiratory infection by our vet, and given zeniquin (antibiotic), clavomox (antibiotic), and prednisone (steroid). Six days into that regimen, he completely crashed. I rushed him to the emergency vet, and he stayed there overnight on oxygen and getting nebulizer treatments and copage (spelling?) every few hours. The vet there wants to do a tracheal wash to test what bugs are inside of him, but says there is a risk of doing such a test on him while he is so sick. The breeder says I should not have the wash done, because one of his litter mates just came down with the same thing and had a wash done. Her wash revealed that the bacteria was BOTH gram positive and gram negative. So the breeder says that the vet should just treat Chuck with antibiotics for both types of bacteria and not do the wash to test.

Sorry that is all so technical. I can barely make sense of it myself. At this point I just feel so helpless, and want to do whatever it takes to make my little man better. I am worried that I will choose the wrong course of action though. Does anyone have experience or advice? Any info would be appreciated.

ddnene

EBN's SWEETHEART aka our little GOOB
Staff member
Jun 19, 2013
Nashville, Tennessee
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Willow (2015) Walter (2014-22) Winston (2012-13) Wellie (2012-13) Bella (2007-13)