I am at a loss...

MomToBettis

Jan 18, 2014
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Bettis
Hello all, this is my first time posting, or starting a new thread. I have read some great tips on here in the past, and am hoping to get some help with some issues my little Bettis has been having. To start, I have an apt with the vet on Monday and I am bringing a stool sample with me. Now on to the fun stuff... My 1 yr old EB Bettis has always had fairly soft stool... pretty much ever since my husband and I brought him home when he was 10 1/2 weeks. He had a horrible case of round worms when we got him, but after 2 rounds of panacure (sp?), he was good to go. However, his stool has never been firm. We have seen the vet about it, and he gave us a variety of options... which always just seemed to put aband-aid on the issue. But most recently, we have started experiencing a whole new ball game, and not a good one. We spent a few days at my in-laws for Christmas, and his stool started getting softer and softer to the point of liquid. I attributed it to being out of his routine, and sure enough within a day of us being home it started firming up. This was all good and dandy until a couple of nights ago he went on our floor in our bedroom. He never goes in the house... he has been potty trained for quite a while. I thought this may have been a fluke, but the next day when I got home from work, he had had explosive diarrhea in his kennel. We called the vet and they recommended adding pumpkin to his food immediately. This did start helping, but last night he went TWICE in our bedroom, and it was very soft. So today we had to leave him alone for about 3 hours, but decided to leave him in our kitchen, gated in. He had complete liquid diarrhea twice. He has now gone almost 16 hours without food. My biggest concerns are obviously that he has liquid stool all of a sudden, and that he seems to have completely lost the ability to hold it. I am at such a loss right now... any help would be appreciate