Help Needed! Pinkish Neck

jdotlim

Jul 4, 2013
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Tonka
Maybe I am being a paranoid doggy parent. Tonka has a really loose neck. So every time he drinks and eats his whole neck gets wet. I clean it whenever possible. But today I've started to notice it got a little pinkish. He doesn't scratch it or anything. But that part usually stays moist. I tend to wipe it and clean it after I see him drink water or eat. What do you guys think it is? Could apple cider vinegar help with this? If so, how would I treat it? I also took his collar off when he's in the house, hoping that would help. Thanks in advance.

PS: I might be posting a lot in the forum , being a newbie to this breed. I just get afraid of every little thing I feel might be wrong when it might not be a big deal. I am still learning. Thanks for understanding and helping a fellow english bulldog lover.

Ashleym

Community Veteran
Feb 5, 2013
So. Calif.
Bulldog(s) Names
Fergus
@jdotlim Oh that looks painful. Try to keep it dry it could lead to something worse. I try to wipe Fergus's chin and neck when ever I see him drink. Every night i wipe his chin and neck down with witch hazel pad. If I notice redness or bumps I will put some destin on the area helps to keep the area dry. You might also want to try Duoxo Pads (can buy thru Amazon) I dont use the duoxo pad every night only if I see a lot of pink or suspect yeast. I would also give him a bath and use a apple vinegar rinse it sounds weird but it really works. Leave the vinegar on do not rinse off let it soak in then towel dry him off after a few minutes.

Also make sure you are using stainless steel bowls and wash them once a day.

Hope he feels better soon Tonka is adorable.

Last edited:

RaRett

Oogle Me on Google
Community Veteran
Apr 15, 2012
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Missi -- With Gizmo and Hershey never far from my heart