Help Needed! Crazy Sneezing! A cold or allergies?

Maife

Apr 8, 2012
Country
Germany
Bulldog(s) Names
Ulysses
So Ulysses started sneezing relentlessly about 2 days ago. My hubby has been doing the same for about 2 weeks, with every blooming plant in the state. For a minute there I thought they were just competing each other with the crazy sneezing, but Ulysses seems to be getting worse. Apart from the sneezing which has come down a bit, he has began making that strange sound like a little horse, don't know how to explain it, but it sounds like a lot of phlegm. He also woke up this morning sounding absolutely stuck in his chest. Is it a cold... allergies?? I know is not kennel cough cause he's got it a couple times and this is completely different, I have no experience with this. :nope: Should I take him in?? (Would like to post a video, but haven't been able to figure out how :( )

Last edited:

linwhite

Sep 24, 2012
Tallahassee, FL
Bulldog(s) Names
Guido Zamboni - EB, Zoltan - Shortybull, Zeva - Frenchie
Best guess is allergies, given the time of year. You can give him benedryl @ 1 mg per pound of dog. A pink pill has 25 mgs in it. Keep in mind that just like in humans, even allergies can morph into ear infections, bronchitis or pneumonia if conjgested long enough.

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
I agree with [MENTION=6176]linwhite[/MENTION], sounds like allergies, and hope the Benedryl helps, if not a trip to the vet may be in order, as it could be an upper respiratory infection.

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
agreed..... sounds like allergies to me too

OP
Maife

Maife

Apr 8, 2012
Country
Germany
Bulldog(s) Names
Ulysses