Help Needed! Help..Seasonal Flank alopecia

MichaellWright

Mar 26, 2013
Bulldog(s) Names
Priscilla and Ikie
Hello, my little bullie, Priscialla, has been diagnosed with seasonal flank alopecia. Both her flanks have large black spots. Vet scraped for mites and it was neg. Have her on a grain-free diet, and give here fish oil daily. Have given her melatonin, but doesnt seem to work, Can anyone help? Any suggestions would be great. Also, she gets glucosamin, and a cranberry capsule daily. She is eating Costco's Natures Domain Turkey and sweetpotato....it is grain free. Thanks so much.

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
I tagged a member who has experience with this.... his Gizmo has it. i think you are doing all you can, but since i have no experience, he may be able to give you a better response.

bullmama

Owner/Administrator
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jan 28, 2010
Tucson, Arizona
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
The Home of the Desert Sky Pack
How much sun does she get? I have also heard its due to lack of sunshine, not sure how true that us though... But it makes sense because so many get it in the winter.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk :)

RaRett

Oogle Me on Google
Community Veteran
Apr 15, 2012
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Missi -- With Gizmo and Hershey never far from my heart
well the good news is this. The bully isnt harmed by the hairloss
the bad news is, it isnt pretty, and you will get lots of questions from people
the good news is, its seasonal, and it CAN get better in the warmer seasons
the bad news is, there is no 'for sure' cure what works with one bully, may not work with another.
the good news is it might just happen for 1 season and never be effected again
the bad news is, it might reoccur each fall and winter.