General Question Maggie is in heat...can you tell me if this is normal?

Little miss Maggie

Aug 23, 2012
Washington
Bulldog(s) Names
Magnolia
Maggie is 10 months old and in heat for the first time....I have never had a female dog before....is it normal for her privates to swell? She urinates much more often and it seems difficult for her to do her bowel movements - not terribly it just takes her a bit longer to finish? She also doesn't seem to want to jump up on the sofa like she usually does? Thanks for any comments. I think my big concern is how much her privates have changed?

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
I have no experience, but I tagged a few members that could give you some insight

L

Lucy-licious

Yes...totally normal for her to get puffy, pee lots, get slightly constipated and not want to jump or stand for a long time. She might get a bit clingy too...Lucy does anyway x

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
Yap, like @Lucy-licuous has said, she is acting perfectly normal.

Noyes27

Sep 27, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Mack
Aaaaw its doggie PMS lol. I have a boy so never dealt with it before, interesting info though!

Sent from my myTouch_4G_Slide using Tapatalk 2

Sherry

Jan 15, 2011
Denver PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Jack , Dolly, Grizz, Peggy Sue, and Scrimps