General Question Luxated patella/ slipped kneecap

PearlandChumdog

Dec 31, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Chumley and pearl
Hello, i am new to the site but have had bulldogs for many years. My oldest dog chumley is a year and 3 months old. Very recently he has started limping occassionaly. When he wakes up or has been sitting for a while. We took him to the vet yesterday, and were told he has a stage 2 or 3 luxated patella which will probably require surgery. Has any one had experience with this? Is it something that can change and heal over time as his tendons ligamints and bones develop? Will supplements help or is surgery the only option for a full recovery? He is a very healthy dog otherwise, the limping is only occassional and most of the time he is running and playing perfectly fine and very happy.

JAKEISGREAT

Mar 25, 2011
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Jake
Hi! First of all..welcome to the site. I'm sorry, I have no experience here but I will try and get you some with experience.

[MENTION=2894]2BullyMama[/MENTION]..[MENTION=2071]Davidh[/MENTION]...[MENTION=1714]Sherry[/MENTION]

JLBURCH31

Nov 23, 2011
Hello, i am new to the site but have had bulldogs for many years. My oldest dog chumley is a year and 3 months old. Very recently he has started limping occassionaly. When he wakes up or has been sitting for a while. We took him to the vet yesterday, and were told he has a stage 2 or 3 luxated patella which will probably require surgery. Has any one had experience with this? Is it something that can change and heal over time as his tendons ligamints and bones develop? Will supplements help or is surgery the only option for a full recovery? He is a very healthy dog otherwise, the limping is only occassional and most of the time he is running and playing perfectly fine and very happy.