Help Needed! ear swollen shut

Stanley Senn

Sep 18, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Stanley
I posted this on another forum but this one looks better suited. Stanley's ear canal is almost swollen shut, he is on meds but the dr. said he may need a Total Ear Canal Albation (removal of the ear canal). This is his fist ear infection (he is 2 years old) and I'm wondering if anybody has any experience with this, or better yet, treatments that we could try to help his ear. We'll definitely try everything possible before resorting to a surgery. Right now he is on an antibiotic/steriod drop. Thanks in advance!

ChanelnBrutus

Snookie ain't got nuttin on me!
Feb 6, 2012
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Brutus (EBD 6/4/11), Chanel (Pitbull 12/23/06)
:hiya: Welcome to the site. I have no experience with the procedure but Brutus has a pretty bad ear infection about a month or so ago. We used PhytoVet CK Antiseptic Flush 2x a day and Mometamax liquid antibiotic inserted in ear no oral meds. Im not sure what meds you have tried? Can you post some pics

I would try getting a second opinion before having the surgery done. What area are you in? There may be a vet on the Vet Recomendation Page.

kazzy220

Jul 31, 2010
Grafton, OHIO
Country
England
Bulldog(s) Names
Maggie (My Angel Baby 5/31/2012). Daddy (2 years). Linus (1year). Bella (4 years)
I agree .. I would opt for a second or even a third opinion before what sounds to be a very invasive surgery!!! :nope:

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
I would definitely get a second opinion before surgery.

Josie

Sep 2, 2012
Mississippi
Bulldog(s) Names
Chuffy