Help Needed! Should I massage Cherry Eye back in

BIJAH

May 28, 2012
San Jose CA
Bulldog(s) Names
Ari Gold
My Ari has cherry eye on his right eye and I am trying to avoid surgery. My vet has prescribed my with some Neo ointment that I apply 3x a day. His cherry eye has come and gone randomly but has not gone back in longer than 2 hours. I read that some of you have had success with massaging it back in. I am not experienced at all. I've watched youtube videos and read plenty. Should I attempt it? Can there be major consequences if done improperly?

cali~jenn

Mar 28, 2010
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Cutty, Miila and Mugsy the pug :)
Not sure on how since i never did it myself with Miilas. The vet did show me how to tuck it back in and it looked easy (course everything they do does) but hers would pop right back out on its own anyhow. It too wasn't out all the time but when it popped out there was no putting it away. Lol if you r worried you can always go back to the vet and have them show you how.

cowsmom

Apr 27, 2011
Virginia
Country
usa
Bulldog(s) Names
Sarah aka cow
i know of one here who has done this ill tag her. [MENTION=4246]ChanelnBrutus[/MENTION] and im sure there are others. hang on someone will be along soon im sure.

ChanelnBrutus

Snookie ain't got nuttin on me!
Feb 6, 2012
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Brutus (EBD 6/4/11), Chanel (Pitbull 12/23/06)
Hey there! I did massage Brutus's both times it popped out. Thankfully it's been 8 mnths since they popped out. This is something you have to be careful to do.

Wash your hands good and dry. Close his eye and use your thumb to massage the cherry you want to massage clockwise for about a min then use a warm compress and put on his eye. You may new to repeat this. I would massage right on the cherry buldge. Let me know if you need anything else :)

I have pictures that I can upload when I get to my computer :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk so that explains my grammar :)

Davidh