Idiopathic Head Tremors (Head Bobbing) Who's Bulldog has had them?

Libra926

Pistol Packing Bullyagrapher
Staff member
May 5, 2010
Washington
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Vegas and Orion
Hi everyone! I am a newbie in the forum and I am really glad I joined. My 9month old bulldog called Ulysses had his firs "episode" last night. It was frightening to see him shake like that for no apparent reason. I panicked because I thought he was having a seizure, but as the seconds went by we realized he was totally fine apart from the shaky head, I've been doing extensive research ever since and I am almost completely sure it was "just" idiopathic head tremors. I am really concerned about it though, he was really sick for the past 2 weeks with kennel cough, until last Saturday he was on antibiotics, paracodin, and something against his swollen throat. Just now he seems to be getting better and now this. I would like to ask more experienced bully owners what is the right approach? I have a vet appointment for tomorrow, but my husband says we should give it a while and see how it evolves...

You know...it seems as if several of us have experience head tremors, even seizures with our bulldogs after illness, surgery and or excitement. My advice, get it on video BEFORE you go to the Dr. It's so much easier to show them than try to explain. Also, make sure the vet you go to has experience with bulldogs. This is typically a breed related thing.
Keep honey, Karo syrup and/or plain yogurt on hand. Alot of the time it tends to be blood sugar related. A vet appointment is probably good, but have your video in hand and the vet picked out. Go to youtube and search for idiopathic head tremors/bulldog and maybe find one that resembles what your bulldog is doing (if you can't get one on video)