Mack's Gums Are Growing Over His Bottom Teeth

Alice Kable

Community Veteran
Dec 17, 2010
Joseph, Oregon, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Ruggles and Buster
I'm just wondering if any of you have experienced this with your older dogs. Our vet. said it is age related and more common in Boxers & Bulldogs. He said it wouldn't be a problem as long as it didn't interfer with his eating. Mack will be 9 June 6th. I will try to get a picture, but he does not like me messing with his mouth.

OP
Alice Kable

Alice Kable

Community Veteran
Dec 17, 2010
Joseph, Oregon, United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Ruggles and Buster
This is the best picture I could get.
th_MacksFrontTeeth001.jpg

Fontanafox

Jan 25, 2011
Fontana, CA
Bulldog(s) Names
Wilson & BabyGirl
Sorry I have no experience with this issue. I imagine if it does become a problem they could remove the excess gum tissue.

ChanelnBrutus

Snookie ain't got nuttin on me!
Feb 6, 2012
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Brutus (EBD 6/4/11), Chanel (Pitbull 12/23/06)
:laugh: that picture is funny! He is like heck no! But seriously about the gums my moms boxer is 8 and she does have the same issue as its not necessary right now to have the gum tissue removed. The vet told them as long as there is teeth showing and eating, drinking is good with no swollen or pink gums or discomfort she would be fine! Once it gets worse she will need to have the tissue removed..Good luck with everything He is a handsome fellow

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
When Nitschle passed in October he was 7, his teeth were beginning to do this... our vet said the same thing, age/bulldog related

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie