To Neuter Or Not

bulldog family

Aug 14, 2010
Bulldog(s) Names
Norman, LeRoy and China
Neuter him... my sister in law just had to put her Boxer to sleep at the age of 5 due to testicular cancer that mets. She said if she could turn back time she would have had him neutered.

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
Neuter him definitely, but I would wait to at least a year old. our vet recommends 18 months, but any time after a year is fine. Just my humble opinion.

Chunksmama

Community Veteran
Aug 20, 2010
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Chunk aka Chunkster, Chunky Monky, Sir Drools-a-lot, Wrinkles Magee
[MENTION=2071]Davidh[/MENTION] Being I'm still new to this doggie stuff, I'm curious of the reason to wait til 18 months? So they can do all their growing? Do their "boy parts" drop completely by that point? (our issue with infection after Chunk was neutered was because of the empty skin)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Davidh

Head Pooper Scooper
Staff member
Mar 21, 2011
Katy, Texas
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
BeBe, Hazel, Lucy Lu, JLO, Hillary, Henri, & Katie
[MENTION=1081]Chunksmama[/MENTION] Well since bullies mature and don't stop growing until about the age of two, that's why our vet likes to wait a year to 18 months. Now I have seen bullies neutered at7 or 8 months old and have grown into beautiful big bullies. But like our vet said that most of them will widen out in the chest and head and little more if they are not neutered until later. Some people will argue this and who is right? Who knows. I will do as he suggest, because he has not steered me wrong yet.

Chunksmama

Community Veteran
Aug 20, 2010
New Jersey
Bulldog(s) Names
Chunk aka Chunkster, Chunky Monky, Sir Drools-a-lot, Wrinkles Magee