ObietheWan

Mar 25, 2017
Kansas City
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Obie
Hello everyone!
So I have finally decided to hop on the bulldog train. This Thursday the 30th, I will be picking up my beautiful brindle bulldog, who I have named Obie, from my breeder.
I've spent several months researching the dog, the possible health issues, the stubbornness and all of the joy they can possibly bring to me, my family, and my friends.
A bit about me. I am a swing shift industrial mechanic at a fiberglass insulation plant, which means my schedule changes on a weekly basis, but also get five days off every month. (I'll be picking Obie up during the start of my long days off, to help him settle into the house.) I also live with two other room mates, one of which works a flex schedule like me, and the other works a standard 9 to 5.
I think I've got the schedule lined up right for everyone and we're all on the same page, but I do have a few questions if anyone wants to help right off the bat!

I want to try to put Obie on Orijen Medium dog puppy food, but how long should I wait after getting him, and how much should I portion into his meals when I do start to make the transition?

I have bought 5 Kong classics, and also a puzzle feeder bowl, but am curious as to if I should mix his meals between the both? For example, in the mornings he is bowl fed, and then for his afternoon meal fed by hand during his training sessions, and then a frozen kibble Kong at night?

I have already prepared a crate for him, and have a den sectioned off with baby gates.

Because puppies are notorious for bite playing, I have bought tons of toys/ropes for him to play with, but is there anything else I should know of to use to help him learn?

Also, I have bought a clicker trainer and a treat bag to help train him, but I'm not too sure on how to get started, or how long to wait before I start trying to train him.

Thanks everyone for taking the time to read all of that 😋

OP
ObietheWan

ObietheWan