ashcassano

Jan 3, 2017
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Penny & Mac
Hello I am new to the Bulldog forum and I have 2 Bullies one crazy little 8 week old puppy Mac and one very sweet 5 year old Penny .
Both dogs are awesome but I am feeling very concerned as my puppy is very aggressive and the breeder told me he was the most aggressive of all the litter. He is very smart and learns quickly but acts nothing like my 5 year old female. He prefers to sleep alone , play alone , eat alone , this concerns me because I want him to be my companion and he does not seem to want any human affection. Or interaction for that matter. Any advice is much appreciated.

Reggies Parents

Dec 30, 2016
Bristol, UK
Country
United Kingdom
Bulldog(s) Names
Reggie
Hi!!

I'm new too, and joined for the same reason you did! Except our Reggie is 19 weeks, and he does enjoy some attention, but very much on his terms.
The advice I have been given so far is to work on general obedience with a clicker and treats - and always use high value treats for things you REALLY want like recall. Reggie is very independant too so recall has been a bit of a nightmare.

Reggie's problem was being separated from his mum & sister too early, so never learning bite inhibition. How big was Mac's litter? Maybe if he was bullying the other pups they chose not to play with him rather than correct him - same result as Reggie though, no bite inhibition or learning of good behaviour.
Also, inconsistant teaching from me & Kev to be honest.
Another thing was, until yesterday he had free control of his toys - so had his own little kingdom. Took his toys away last night (except for a couple of chew as he is teething). Now he has to work for everything, and even last night I saw small improvements.

Maybe your Penny will help too. Even sweet dogs have a level that they just will not tolerate. Perhaps if she tells him off too he'll take a lesson on how to be well behaved.

Good luck to you :)

2BullyMama