New biting puppy

Jennsatori

Apr 30, 2013
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Happy
Hi, I'm a newbie. I have a 12 week old bulldog named Happy. I've had him for 4 weeks now. I have to say it's been a lot more difficult than I thought having a puppy would be. He's really bity. He's like a piranha on legs. Can anyone else tell me if they went through this with their puppy and what they did and if the dog eventually stopped biting so much. Play biting of course. Pant legs, hands etc. I shove a toy in his mouth when he does it but there are times when he gets in a really good bite and it really hurts! He's also been difficult to house train. He will just sit down and pee inside. I decided that when I have him out of the crate that I will take him out about every hour or so since that seems to be the limit when he's out of the crate. Inside the crate he's gone all night without peeing before. But does anyone have any advice?

RazrRila99

Mar 24, 2013
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Colossus
I am only passing on what Ive read here:

Biting - make sure to have something that is good for him to bite and swap your arm/hand for it. I do that and say, Good Bite. One time Colossus bit too hard and I "yelped" that caught his attention. When Ive done it before, was almost like he knew I was trying to "play" him, but that time it worked.

Potty training - every hour is where you should start. Colossus is 16-17 weeks and we are going every 90 minutes or so. He makes it all night (sleeping) and through the day in his kennel without messing. Im going to start next week with him in the basement, if he does good he will get reign of the living room while Im at work.

This is my first time with a puppy (let alone an indoor dog), and its going fairly smooth. Its not easy, its a lot patience. I lost it once with him, and immediately caught myself. Hes teaching me as much as I am teaching him. Keep your cool, be stern when needed, LOTS of praise when he does good.

Leatherneck

Apr 3, 2013