Another Rookie...

Jarhead0311

Nov 26, 2012
Bulldog(s) Names
Depends if we get a boy or a girl
Hello, I'm always looking for more information about Bullies and this website looks promising. My wife and I have been researching Bulldogs for awhile now and have learned quite a lot, but there is always more to learn. I guess the biggest first question I have is; how do you even begin to find a reliable breeder? I don't want to waste time or energy on scams. I thought about asking a reputable Bulldog vet about good breeders in the area, is this a good idea? Thanks!!

Hstead

Nov 14, 2012
Ironton OH
Bulldog(s) Names
Spielman (RIP) Bolt
I am by no means an expert and we do not even have our pup yet, but he will be here Saturday. This is also my first bulldog though I have wanted one since I was 10 and now I am 40. I googled bulldogs for sale and the three states that surround me. I was trying to limit my drive to 4 hours or less but I would have driven 6 hours if I had too. I went to their websites etc. I was looking for puppy mills and trying to avoid those. One thing I looked for was if mom and dad were in the house or a kennel. I prefer house. I looked to see if the breeders had kids. Ultimately for me, I spoke to them on the phone and via email and text. I got a good idea pretty quick which breeders I trusted more. I wound up picking a breeder about an hour away that has only been breeding bulldogs for a couple of years but seemed really knowledgeable and caring. She is trying hard to build a business and she was as picky as I was about who she was going to sell hers to. When we visited them at their home we could tell her bulldogs were well taken care of. She seems really honest and my wife and I felt like we knew her and her husband for years. We stayed at their home for 2 hours. She guarantees her pups for one year, which most do. I would recommend just asking a lot of questions and you will get a feel for who you trust. There were three that I spoke with that just