General Question Bulldog does not play much

Tysonthebull

Dec 8, 2020
Country
Canada
Bulldog(s) Names
Tyson
Good day,

I recently got an english bulldog (last week) and he's amazing ! He is 13 weeks old now and i got him a week ago. He does not play much, he is very low on energy he wakes up will bitw stuff here and there and go back to bed. I haven't seen him run or jump once. I am trying to engage but he looks at me like I am crwzy ahha. I was wondering if I am the only one who is going through this? is it normal? Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_20201206_124856_060~2.jpg
    IMG_20201206_124856_060~2.jpg
    488 KB · Views: 214

tigertanktoo

Mar 31, 2019
SW Georgia
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Gabe - EBD 7 yrs old and Charlie - Cockerspaniel 15 yrs old
He's a pretty bulldog. I'm no expert on bullys but my boy Gabe was kind of like that. He has his spurts of energy to play and rough house now and then. He's 5 now and I still can't get him to give kisses. Patience is definately required with these fellas. Get him a bunch of chew toys and see which one he favors the most and play with that one with him.

cefe13

Sep 12, 2013
Country
Sweden
Bulldog(s) Names
Castor (2013-2021 RIP)
What a beautiful little fellow. As he's only been in your house for such a short time, perhaps he is still adjusting. If he's not into active playing (like running around), perhpas he is more into other kinds of activities and ways of interacting. Somethign Castor liked was to look for treats in paper rolls. We took his food kibble and put a kibble in an empty toilet paper roll which we folded so the kibble wouldn't escape. Then we used it as a rattle, and Castor would get it and would chew it open and get the treat. You need to watch the pup closely so he doesn't eat the cardboad. After a while, we would rattle the paper roll and hide it (behind an open door, for instance).