Please help with house breaking issues

phoefling

Feb 3, 2016
Chicago
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Stella
We are total newbs to the English Bulldog world. We haven't had a dog for more than 30 years! I've always loved the breed, so we decided to take the plunge and get an English Bulldog puppy. She was born Nov. 9, so she (Stella) is 3 months old. We absolutely lover her! She seems very trainable, so we have had good success with no having accidents in the house. Except...at night she pees in her bed! We crate her only while we sleep at night, and the crate is sectioned off so that there is only room for her bed. We put her in there when it's time, and she does not make one sound through the night. My husband and I take turns getting up in the middle of the night to take her out since she is so young (gosh, I hope we don't have to do that for much longer!). So, we take her out 1 or 2 times in the middle of the night. I'm not sure if we are just not getting up often enough or what is going on. Any suggestions would be so greatly appreciated!!!

Manydogs

Community Veteran
May 2, 2013
Tennessee
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
Maudee,MarthaKatie,Lizzie,Bro.Mini
Twice during the night should be enough for her. It seems that some Bullies can not have bedding,as they will pee on it. It is hard to think of them not having a soft bed, but try taking her bed out of the crate,and see if that makes a difference.

2BullyMama

I'm not OCD....now who moved my bulldog?
Staff member
Community Veteran
Jul 28, 2011
Gilbertsville, PA
Country
USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Chelios (Frenchie), Cubby (Frenchie) Nitschke (2004-2011) Banks (2005-2014) and Lambeau (2014-2024)
:welcome3: to EBN ..... agreed, 1 or 2 times a night should be good and also as Lynn stated remove her bedding till she is trained -- however, some dogs just can't have bedding.