Bulldog using crate as bathroom

bulldoglover22

Jan 23, 2014
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
chole
Hello everyone
This is my first time posting but I am having a frustrating time with my bulldog. He is constantly using the bathroom in the crate. He is recently crate trained but recently has decided to use his crate as a personal bathroom. It started maybe about 2 months once every 2 weeks the once a week and now it seems like it is happening everyday, but then he can go for days without using the bathroom in his crate. He has a set feeding and bathroom schedule we have even increased his exercise and take him on extra bathroom breaks during the day. I can take him out, go to the store come back home then bam there is pee and poop in the crate. I am getting very frustrated. We have taken him to the vet, and the vet ruled out any urinary tract infection, confirmed that he was healthy and stated that it was just "him being a true stubborn bulldog". I just wanted to know do you have any advice? Has this happened to you with your bulldog? How long did it last. He a very sweet bulldog know his commands just an all around good bulldog, just like to use the bathroom in his crate now.. and it's really frustrating.

Thanks in advance
FYI this isn't my first dog, i had many in past but this is my first time dealing with this. Also he doesn't have any pillows, blankets or covers in his crate

Last edited:

ABEBD

Feb 18, 2011
Phx, Az.
Country
U.S.A.
Bulldog(s) Names
By many names depending on the situation?
Hello,
This type of behavior can be very frustrating and time consuming. Do not give up it can be fixed.
Animal behavior changes are difficult because of the language barrier. Being consistent is very important.

Since you have ruled out any medical issues, it sounds like it is a behavior issue. Having a set schedule for feeding and sleeping is good. It sounds like what you dog is doing is separation anxiety.

A few questions?