Newbie here, sorry if wrong area to post.. Doggie door or NO doggie door?

Patrick131

Aug 27, 2013
Country
US
Bulldog(s) Names
Lulu
Hello, getting our first Bullie in a couple of weeks when she turns 8 weeks. We are first time Bullie owners and have heard that it is not a good idea to have a doggie door available for the puppy to learn when to go outside. Since I live in New Mexico, it does get quite hot at times, and we have been told not to have the door incase she goes outside and stays out to long and gets sick even in 70 degree weather. So I assume that leaves crate training instead. Would love some suggestions on if you use a doggie door and why.. Thanks in advance

Jennifer Clark

I can handle the whiskey, if you can handle the nu
Community Veteran
Apr 16, 2013
Searcy, Arkansas
Country
United States
Bulldog(s) Names
Sheldon A.K.A Shelly Bean (06-12-19); Duecy (9-13-14); Maddie (4-16-19)
Hello, getting our first Bullie in a couple of weeks when she turns 8 weeks. We are first time Bullie owners and have heard that it is not a good idea to have a doggie door available for the puppy to learn when to go outside. Since I live in New Mexico, it does get quite hot at times, and we have been told not to have the door incase she goes outside and stays out to long and gets sick even in 70 degree weather. So I assume that leaves crate training instead. Would love some suggestions on if you use a doggie door and why.. Thanks in advance

I'm sure it gets quite hot there with the weather like that I'd go with crate training there are a vast amount of reasons crate training is a good idea the weather being only one of them.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 4

Baconator

Apr 12, 2012
Northern NJ
Bulldog(s) Names
Bacon