crate training puppy basics

NewAccount2013

Apr 5, 2013
Bulldog(s) Names
LeRoy
Hi all,

I have a five month old puppy. I originally wasn't going to crate train as I have never done it before but since potty training is going slowly, I am wondering if maybe i should give it a shot.

I've introduced the puppy to the crate, the puppy goes in and out freely. I gave him a few snacks. I put him in there for a few minutes art a time and he seems to be ok. I will try to do it again for a few hours.

However, ideally, I would like to keep him in there while I am at work (since he chews and soils around the apt). However, I doubt that he can hold it in for 8 to 9 hours at this time.

Can someone give me some tips. Should I started with crating him overnight? I googled the topic and found many different and contradictory tips online. Thanks everyone!

JAKEISGREAT

Mar 25, 2011
Southern California
Bulldog(s) Names
Jake
Hi! This is a link to an online free dog magazine. They were full of great info and helped me so much as Jake was the first pup we crate trained ...there are lots of great topics..

http://www.canismajor.com/dog/tpuppy.html

One thing..at his age , the longest he can hold it is 5-6 hours..they say 1 hour for each month of age..plus an hour. I would start on the low side.

RazrRila99

Mar 24, 2013
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Bulldog(s) Names
Colossus
I have crate trained Colossus, well as much as you can a four month old puppy. We have just started having nights out, so far so good. Im in the same situation as the OP as I work too far from the house to go home at lunch. He has had a few mis-haps during the days (VERY sporadic), but so far at nights its been good.

Last edited:

Ashleym

Community Veteran
Feb 5, 2013
So. Calif.
Bulldog(s) Names
Fergus